Catholic Archdiocese Of Accra

The Catholic Archdiocese of Accra

Most great things have humble beginnings. Such is the history of the Metropolitan Catholic  Archdiocese of Accra. On 31 January 1893, Fathers Otto Hilberer and Eugene Raess arrived in Accra to found Catholicism in the capital city.In 1894, a devastating yellow fever epidemic swept through the coastal towns of Ghana, then Gold Coast, and dealt a great blow to both the local people and the missionary priests. In all 7 out of 10 missionary Fathers died as a result of this epidemic. It was as if Satan himself was waging war against the establishment of the Kingdom of God in Accra. For about 30 years Accra was to remain without a resident priest.

Services in Accra were held in rented houses. Among the many houses used for worship were those of one Miss Quaye and Mr Andoh. The mother Church of the Archdiocese of Accra is the Sacred Heart Church. This was once a cocoa shed which was remodelled and dedicated by Bishop Hauger on 23 May, 1925. The solemn High Mass celebrated on that day was the first ever in Accra. The Metropolitan Archdiocese of Accra is today the gateway to the beautiful country of Ghana. As you surf through this website of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Accra, you would come to see what we stand for–helping move forward the establishment of the Kingdom which started shakingly but resolutely. You are invited to visit any of our parishes. Perhaps you can learn something about our Catholic faith. You are also welcome to take part in our social, pastoral or educational ministries.

Above all, it is our prayer that you will come to experience the joy and the peace of God now and forever.






1 Holy Spirit Cathedral Adabraka
2 St. Joseph Weija
3 St. Peter Tettegu
4 St. Maurice La
5 Our Lady of Visitation La Wireless
6 St. Peter Osu
7 Christ the King Cantonments
8 Divine Mercy Okponglo
9 St. James Osu-RE
10 St. Anthony Nungua
11 St. Ignatius of Loyola Baatsona
12 Our Lady of Perpetual Help Kwei-Nungua
13 Mary Mother of Good Counsel Airport West
14 Ss. Anne & Joachim Teshie
15 St. Catherine Burma Camp
16 St. Michael 37
17 St. Martin Teshie Camp
18 St. Thomas Aquinas Cantonments


19 Sacred Heart Derby Avenue
20 St. Anthony of Padua Domeabra
21 Holy Family Mataheko
22 St. Peter Ngleshie Amanfro
23 St. Faustina American Farm
24 St. Margaret Mary Dansoman
25 St. Jude New Weija
26 Martyrs of Uganda Mamprobi
27 Star of the Sea Dansoman
28 Our Lady of Lourdes Glefe
29 St. Luke Korle-Bu
30 Ss. Peter & Paul New Aplaku
31 St. Carol Bortianor
32 Divine Word Tuba


33 St. John the Baptist Odorkor
34 St. Dominic Mallam
35 St. Theresa Kaneshie
36 St. Charles Lwanga Abeka
37 St. Anthony Fish Pond
38 Immaculate Conception Akweteman
39 St. Stephen Darkuman
40 Mary Seat of Wisdom Manhean
41 Our Lady Of Assumption New Achimota
42 St. Daniel Comboni Tantra Hill
43 Immaculate Heart of Mary Chantan
44 St. Cecilia North Ofankor
45 Prince of Peace Kwashieman
46 St. Joseph the Worker Nii Boiman
47 Our Lady of Lourdes Sowutuom
48 St. Benedict Ofankor
49 St. Monica Fan Milk
50 Our Lady of Hope Olebu
51 St. Francis of Assisi Awoshie
52 St. Clare of Assisi Agape
53 St. George Police Depot
54 Sacred Heart Afuaman
55 St. Jude Bokobokor
56 St. Alphonse Odumase
57 St. Michael Nsakina
58 St. Raphael Kwashikumaman
59 St. John Paul II Joma
60 St. Pius X Abease-Ablekuma


61 Ss. Thomas More & John Fisher Achimota
62 St. Kizito Nima
63 St. Paul Kpehe
64 St. Joseph Obom
65 St. Sylvanus Pokuase
66 St. Muggaga Kuntunse
67 St. Bakhita Amasaman
68 Holy Trinity Sapeiman
69 All Saints Ashalaja
70 Epiphany Mayera
71 St. Francis Xavier Kotobabi
72 St. Joseph the Worker Medie
73 St. Peter Adjen Kotoku
74 Divine Mercy Papase
75 Immaculate Heart of Mary Samsam
76 St. Dominic Taifa
77 St. Thomas Aquinas Legon
78 Blessed Sacrament Abelenkpe


79 St. Agnes Dodowa
80 St. Peter Ayikuma
81 St. Hubert Agomeda
82 St. Charles Borromeo Oyibi
83 Queen of Peace Madina
84 Holy Rosary Adenta
85 St. Monica Adjiringanor
80 Our Lady of Fatima Abokobi
86 Our Lady of Apostles Madina West
87 St. Patrick Kwabenya
88 St. Louis Paraku Estate
89 St. Francis of Assisi Ashaley Botwe
90 St. John the Evangelist Adenta
91 St. Cecilia Frafraha
92 Seat of Wisdom Teiman
93 St. John of God Amrahia
94 St. John Paul II Damfa
95 St. Mark Ashongman
96 St. Jude Abom Junction
97 St. Barnabas Haatso
98 St. Raphael Pantang
99 Presentation of the Lord New Adenta
100 Our Lady of Mercy Tema C1
101 St. Damian Kpone
102 St. Peter Tema New Town
103 Good Shepherd Tema C2
104 St. John Bosco Golf City
105 Mary Help of Christians Tema C. 25
106 Catholic Church Bediako (Opp. Michel Camp)
107 St. Raphael the Archangel Lashibi
108 St. Andrew Kordiabe
109 St. Mary Doryumu
110 St. Joseph the Worker Tema C8
111 All Saints Tema C11
112 St. Dominic Dawhenya
113 St. Francis of Assisi Newland Estates
114 St. Mary Devtraco
115 St. Martin De Porres New Dawhyenya
116 St. Jude New Ningo
117 St. Paul Lovely Hill
118 Christ the King Astra Court
119 St. John the Baptist Prampram
120 Corpus Christi Sakumono
121 St. Bakhita Lashibi
122 St. Augustine Ashaiman
123  Holy Trinity Adjei Kojo
124 St. Luke Ashaiman – Lebanon
125 Catholic Church New York City-Lebanon
126 Blessed Clementina Ashaiman – Middle East
127 St. Francis of Assisi Newland
128 St. Peter Claver Ada Foah
129 Holy Rosary Kasseh
130 St. Catherine of Siena Big Ada
131 Our Lady of Fatima Anyakpor
132 St. Mary Koluedor
133 Holy Trinity Sege
134 Our Lady of Apostles Ahwiam
135 St. Anthony Old Ningo
136 Christ the King Tsopoli
137 St. John Vianney Asutsuare
138 St. Mary Major Kasunya
139 St. Michael Kadzanya
140 St. John Osuwem
141 St. Thomas Lubuse
142 St. Casimir Nyapianya
143 St. Justin Asutsuare Junction
144 St. Maria Goretti Battor
145 St. Martin de Porres Mepe
146 St. Joseph the Worker Vume
147 St. Martin Agbeve
148 Sacred Heart Aveyime
149 Our Lady of Lourdes Dordoekofe
150 St. Michael Dzorkpo
151 Catholic Church Tokpo
152 Our Lady of the Holy Rosary Kua
153 St. Arnold Janssen Dedukorpe
154 Catholic Church Kpekpo
155 Catholic Church Kledeke
156 Good Shepherd Ngorlekpe
157 Catholic Church Vome
158 Catholic Church Adiedopoe
159 Catholic Church Avadiwoe
160 St. Patrick Kpotame
161 Catholic Church Agave
162 St. Michael Michel Camp
163 St. Dominic Savio Afienya
164 Ss. Peter & Paul Mataheko
165 St. Theresa of the Child Jesus Gbetsile
166 St. Francis of Assisi Newland Estate
167 St. Jerome New Jerusalem